Dave twins Rakshith, Rakshitha win a race apiece

CHENNAI: Two sets of siblings from Chennai hogged the limelight by winning four of the nine races on Saturday at the Madras International Circuit to light up the first round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2024.

The 15-year-old Dave twins, Rakshith and Rakshitha took the honours in the Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup (NSF 250R) and the National Championship Girls (Stock 165cc) races. It was a maiden win for both of them, in their respective categories.

Two other siblings, 28-year-old KY Ahamed (Pro-Stock 165cc Open) and his 17-year-old brother Abdul Basim (Novice 165cc), also won a race apiece to set off celebrations in both families.

Elsewhere, Sarthak

Chavan, the 17-year-old from Pune, led a 1-2 finish for TVS Racing along with Bengalu-ru's Chiranth Vishwanath, also 17, in the premier Pro-Stock 301-400cc category. The race was cut to four laps from scheduled six after a red flag stoppage following a Turn-3 crash (riders ok) and Sarthak, starting from pole, virtually destroyed the field on restart. Chiranth came in second, ahead of Hyderahad's Sairahil Pillarisetty (Gusto Racing).

Sarthak, however, had a disastrous outing in the Pro-Stock 165cc Open race as he crashed when in the lead. On his exit, Sarthak's two TVS Racing team-mates, KY Ahamed and multiple National champion Jagan Kumar, were involved in a tight finish. Ahamed pipped his mentor Jagan in a photo-finish with another TVS Racing ace, Deepak Ravikumar, who had



Rakshitha and Rakshith

started the race from the pit lane, completing the podium. Chiranth, who was running second, also crashed, but resumed to finish fourth.

Also finishing on top step of the podium was Chennai's Kaushik Subbiah Ganesan (RACR Castrol Power1 Ultimate) who won as he

pleased in the Novice 301-400cc class that gained National championship status from this

Earlier, pole-sitter Abdul Basim, held off a strong challenge from Mysuru's Tasmai Cariappa (Motul Sparks Racing) who led briefly in the penultimate lap but conceded the advantage. Basim went on to win with Tasmai and Coimbatore's Abhinav G (Chandra LGE Racing) finishing second and third, respectively.

Rakshitha Dave, starting from P2, moved in front by Turn-2, deftly avoiding any jostling that was happening behind her, and enjoyed a trouble-free run for a commanding win. Another Chennai rider, Jagathishee Kumaresan (One Racing) and Ryhana Bee (Motul Sparks Racing) settled for second and third spots, respectively, while pole-sitter Ann Jennifer (Alpha Racing) came in a disappointing fourth.

"I am very happy to score my first-ever win in the National championship. I had a good start and a trouble-free run after going into the lead early in the first lap. The bike too performed very well," said a delighted Rakshitha.